11/06/20 USC Architecture Faculty & Alumni Win 2020 AIA|LA Awards


The AIA|LA Awards program recognizes architecture firms based in the Los Angeles area for projects all over the country in three categories: AIA|LA Design Awards, NEXT LA Awards, and Millennium Awards. AIA|LA Design Awards recognize significant completed projects around the country, NEXT LA Awards recognize planned or almost-done projects, and Millennium Awards recognize projects that were awarded an AIA|LA design award over the last 20 years. There are three levels awarded within each category: Honor, Merit and Citation.

Current faculty and alumni of the USC School of Architecture won the following awards this year:

AIA|LA Design Awards

Honor Award: UCLA Margo Leavin Graduate Art Studios (Culver City, CA) and Menil Drawing Institute (Houston, TX) by Johnston Marklee (alumnus Mark Lee)

Merit Award: Westgate 1515 (Los Angeles, CA) by Lorcan O’Herlihy Architects (adjunct professor Lorcan O’Herlihy)

Merit Award: Skyhouse (Los Angeles, CA) by XTEN Architecture (alumnus Monika Haefelfinger)

Merit Award: Elysian Fields (Los Angeles, CA) by Warren Techentin Architecture [WTARCH] (adjunct professor Warren Techentin)

Citation Award: North Shore Pavilion (Coachella Valley, CA) by MUTUO (alumnus Fernanda Oppermann)

Citation Award: MLK1101 Supportive Housing (Los Angeles, CA) by Lorcan O’Herlihy Architects (adjunct professor Lorcan O’Herlihy)

Citation Award: Arroyo Bridge (Los Angeles, CA) by Martin-Project + Gigante AG (associate professor of practice R. Scott Mitchell)

Citation Award: Autry Resource Center (Burbank, CA) by Chu+Gooding Architects 

The NEXT LA Awards

Merit Award: Pacific Landing (Santa Monica, CA) by Tighe Architecture (adjunct professor Patrick Tighe)

Citation Award: Stillness, Joshua Tree (Joshua Tree, CA) by Tighe Architecture (adjunct professor Patrick Tighe)

The Millennium Awards

Honor Award: Grand Park (Los Angeles, CA) by RIOS (alumnus Mark Rios)

Merit Award: Solar Umbrella (Venice, CA) and The SIX (Los Angeles, CA) by Brooks & Scarpa (adjunct professor Larry Scarpa)

Citation Award: Vault House (Oxnard, CA) by Johnston Marklee (alumnus Mark Lee)

Citation Award: Caltrans District 7 Headquarters (Los Angeles, CA) by Morphosis Architects (alumnus Thom Mayne)

In addition to the traditional awards, two of our faculty were named Presidential Honorees. Director of graduate and post-professional architecture programs Alvin Huang, AIA, was the winner of the Community Contribution Award for his work with USC Architecture Operation PPE. Professor of practice Wes Jones’s firm, Jones, Partners: Architecture, won the 25-Year Award for their work on the UCLA Chiller Plant/Cogeneration Facility.

Congratulations, alumni and faculty!

To learn more about the AIA|LA Awards and the winners, click here.

Faculty In This Article

Latest News

By Xinyi Liu This story was originally published by the USC Homelessness Initiative. Two USC Architecture students, Anshia Badyal (‘2021) and Aishwarya Pai (‘2021), partnered ...
Our virtual faculty exhibition series continues with a new show from lecturer Alex Maymind. “Revisiting Revisiting” is a mash-up of historical research, obsessive drawings, and ...
Our virtual faculty exhibition series continues this spring with “Misreading as a Model for Reconstruction,” a new exhibition from lecturer Juan Salazar. The work addresses ...
What did you study at the USC School of Architecture? How did your studies influence your career path?I received my B.Arch from the USC School of Architecture in 1997. In ...
By Cindy Olnick In a remarkable career spanning more than 40 years (and counting), Peyton Hall, FAIA has made an indelible impact on the built environment of Los Angeles. ...
Katharine “Kim” Hill Coleman, architect and educator, passed away February 1, 2021 at her home in Los Angeles, California after a heroic battle with cancer. As a practicing ...