Jennifer Siegal Wins 4th arcVision Prize – Women and Architecture

School News

Jennifer Siegal Wins 4th arcVision Prize – Women and Architecture

April 12, 2016


Jennifer Siegal, adjunct associate professor of architecture and founder of Office of Mobile Design, has been awarded the 4th arcVision Prize - Women and Architecture, international award to women’s architecture organized by Italcementi.


Siegal, the first American to win the prize, was awarded by unanimous vote. The jury defined her as “a fearless pioneer in the research and development of prefabricated construction systems, at low prices for disadvantaged users and areas, who has been able to invent and build practical solutions and a new language for mobile and low-cost housing.”


“The honor is so great because I feel like I’m being recognized by the top women in the field,” said Siegal. “I was completely surprised.”


As the winner, Siegal will receive a 50,000 euro grant to spend a week working on prefabrication concepts at i.lab, Italcementi Group Research and Innovation Center in Bergamo, Italy, designed by Richard Meier.  The Center’s focus is to promote and catalyze innovative building technologies and practices.


The Award was presented on April 7 at the Teatro dell'Arte of the Triennale di Milano, on the occasion of the return of the 21st Triennale International Exhibition.


Siegal was selected after two days of meetings and discussions by a jury that included outstanding professionals from the world of architecture and socioeconomics: Shaikha Al Maskari (member of the board of the Arab International Women's Forum-AIWF), Vera Baboun (Mayor of Bethlehem), Odile Decq (owner of the Odile Decq architecture firm), Yvonne Farrell (co-founder of Grafton Architects), Daniela Hamaui (journalist), Louisa Hutton (co-founder of the Sauerbruch Hutton architectural practice), Suhasini Mani Ratnam (an Indian actress, producer and writer), Samia Nkrumah (President of the Kwame Nkrumah Pan-African Center), Benedetta Tagliabue (owner of the Miralles Tagliabue EMBT architectural firm), Martha Thorne (Director of the Pritzker Prize).


(Photos by Benny Chan, Jennifer Siegal, and Bill Timmerman.)