NAAB Catalog Statement

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an 8-year, 3-year, or 2-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards. 


Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a pre-professional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.


The University of Southern California School of Architecture offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:   

Bachelor of Architecture (160 undergraduate credits) 

Master of Architecture (pre-professional degree + 64 graduate credits) 

Master of Architecture (non pre-professional degree + 102 graduate credits)


Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2022

Download the reports:

2014 Visiting Report (PDF)

NAAB Architecture Program Report 2013-14 (APR) (PDF)

NAAB Conditions for Accreditation 2014 (PDF)

NAAB Procedures for Accreditation 2015 (PDF)